Cereal, Cookies, and Milk, Oh My!

I happened to be at Stop & Shop again today.

Cheerios were on sale, so I decided to stock up. I already have at least 30 boxes of cereal, but we go through them very quickly here, and cereal doesn’t really go bad, right?

Cheerios

So what was the deal?

The 8.9 oz Cheerios are normally $4.17 each, but they were on sale for $2.50 each. Now, they were also running a promo for $4 off if you buy any four General Mills products. That brings the total to four boxes of Cheerios for $6.

Are you following? Now watch very closely, so you don’t miss the magic.

I had four $.50 manufacturer coupons which Stop & Shop doubles! That means four boxes for $2 TOTAL! $.50 each!

 

Where do I get these coupons from, you wonder? I get manufacturer’s coupons from Coupons.com. Sure, they install a million viruses on my computer, but it’s worth it.

 

In addition to that sale, 13.3 oz packs of Oreo cookies were on sale three for $9 (usually, they’re $4.5 each). If you get the three packs, you also get $3 to use on milk, which happened to be on sale this week for $2.89/gallon (usually $4.19).

In other words, a free gallon of milk! If it’s for free, it’s for me.

What about coupons? I’m glad you asked.

I had a manufacturer’s coupon for the cookies, $1 off, so it was 3 for $8 (Coupons only double if they’re less than a dollar).

 

Cereal, milk, and cookies??? Yumm!! Sounds like my breakfast tomorrow.

Or maybe my dinner tonight.

oreo-cookies-and-milk-e1368646124688

 

Now, my freezer’s still full of ice cream that I bought two weeks ago, so my wife would kill me if I got any more. Next time we’re out of ice cream and she wants, guess what? Wait until the next sale.

But for your information, Blue Bunny ice cream was on sale 2/$7 instead of $5.69 each, and you have 4 manufactures coupons for $.75 each doubled  = $6 off, so that makes it 4 for $8. You have to buy 4 because that gets you in the higher category of $.30 in gas.

 

Wait, what’s this gas money????? More on that in a future post 😉 !

 

Just to give you the totals of my shopping trip (let’s include the ice cream for fun), 4 boxes of Cheerios, 3 packs of Oreos, 1 gallon of milk, and 4 tubs of ice cream.

Retail price of all that is about $57.13.

What I pay is………………………….$18!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

68% savings brought to you by Eric the Cheapskate!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cereal, Cookies, and Milk, Oh My!

  1. Hi there,
    Great tips so far!
    So I’ve been dating this guy and would like to get some coupons for dates as dating can get pretty expensive. Any tips for me?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

